Uncategorized

Flying Solo Part 1

Today I embark on my first solo flight. Since I am flying into Des Moines, Iowa there are ZERO direct flights. They got me flying to Dallas Fort Worth with an hour layover and then onto my destination. I have never flown solo or had to change planes so I am nervous! I’ve never been to Texas or Iowa. Friday, I printed out a map of DFW and did the online virtual 360 tour of Des Moines airports. I don’t like feeling unprepared or lost.

Also this chick is so tired. You see, the night before any flight I always get anxious and sleep evades me; last night was no different. I tossed and turned for at least 3 hours. This sleeplessness was a bit different though. Remember earlier in the year when I was having so many issues with my health; not sleeping, constantly breaking out and itching, and never able to find any relief? Well, after finally seeking out a new physician, they decided that what I had was ecxema and promptly made me an appointment with an allergist. FINALLY!! Someone actually listened to me, understood what I was going through, and felt the need as I did to find out the cause of it all. She ordered me to stay on the medication I was currently taking a combination of Singulair and Hyrdoxizine at night before bed, start using Cetaphil soap/lotion, and to be patient. This was going to be a process.

Last week I got my appointment confirmation for the allergist. Did you know it’s a four hour appointment? I sure didn’t. They said we also need you to stop taking all of your medications at least five days before your appointment. WHAT?! My head nearly spun off my neck. How am I going to survive the constant itching and breakouts for a week with no medication? Not to mention, it’s while I’m away on my business trip. After hearing all of this, I started to freak out a little. Okay, a lot. I was so worried that I would die from exhaustion after no sleep and scratching myself to the bone. Maybe it’s all in my head, maybe it’s not. Anyway, last night was my first night without medication. The ecxema is getting worse by the day and the itching is going to drive me bananas. Finally after much tossing and turning last night, I decided only one thing needed to happen. I needed to take back control. With some deep breathing and sequential muscle relaxation techniques, I finally drifted off. I’ll talk about this in another blog post.

So, I have passed check-in and security and am patiently waiting for my flight. I feel oddly confident that this first leg of the trip will go smooth. My biggest worry was going somewhere I’d never been, getting lost in a gianormous airport, and possibly missing my connecting flight. Why am I always so apprehensive about the unknown? You know, I’m not real sure. But I saw something the other day that really resonated with me. I came across this post on FB and after watching, I finally get it. Will Smith talks about the other side of fear. Decide to take control and let go of your fear. I dare you.

“The maximum point of danger, is the minimum point of fear. God places the best things in life on the other side of terror, and on the other side of your maximum fear are the best things in life. Everything you want is on the other side of fear.” -Will Smith

photo creds: Patrick Hendry

Leave a Reply

